Cris Gera

Cris Gera is a popular musician in Zimbabwe. His songs have been played repeatedly on the radio the past few years. 


Some of his most popular songs are: ‘Every time’, ‘Sango Rinopa Waneta’, ‘Dollar’, ‘Unity’, ‘Going Crazy’, ‘Kukanyaira’, ‘Rudo Kechipiri’, ‘Mangwanani,’ ‘Mazirimi’ and ‘Chema Zimbabwe’ (Cry Zimbabwe) (2016). 

December 6th 2019 Cris Gera teams up with LIDIO to release his new album Nziyo Dziri Mandiri (Music In Me). This afro-pop delight continues to reveal Cris Gera’s passion for social justice and for questions that affects people’s daily life. His music is reflective of his surroundings and everyday life in his home country of Zimbabwe.


The album was recorded in South Africa in 2016. The same year Cris infuriated government supporters with the song Chema Zimbabwe - portraying some of the social and economic issues facing his country.  Harassment and death threats forced Cris to take refuge in South Africa, later traveling as an ICORN musician to live and work as an artist in residence in Sweden.


Cris Gera brings up a lot of dark issues in his music, relevant, important ones. It makes you think, but through his vision and his sound, through the music in him, we move towards the light.

Gera never saw his song as political, but rather as a grieving of the current state of affairs in his country. He says that he is not a revolutionary, but writes music to the people and his children, about life in Zimbabwe

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Svart Spotify Ikon
  • Svart YouTube Ikon
  • Black SoundCloud Icon



Single - I Moved On

Release - 14/02/2020 

Artist - Cris Gera

Cover I Moved On Cris Gera.jpg


Recorded at Dalbackavägen Musik & Produktion

Engineered and Produced by Viktor Fagerlund

Mixing and mastering - Gustav Afsahi
Music and lyrics - Cris Gera

Drums - Johan Pettersson

Guitar - William Nordlund

Bass - Jesper Rangemo

Keys - Viktor Fagerlund

Vocals and mbira - Cris Gera


Funded and supported by BD POP


Album - Music in Me / Nziyo Dziri Mandiri

Release - 06/12/2019 

Artist - Cris Gera

  • Amazon - Black Circle
  • Spotify - svarte sirkelen
  • Apple Music - svarte sirkelen



Cris Gera - Lead vocals
Admire Gatsi – Keys and synthesizer
Justin Makweche – Keys and synth (Mangwanani, Believe)

Patrick Sita – Guitar
Simon Dabi – Guitar (Kundinunura)
Praise Nyandimu - Backing vocals
Itumeleng Sekhoto - Vocals on Mangwanani Sanibonani


Engineered by Terence Morgan

Mastered by Audun Strype

Produced by Terence Morgan

Co – produced by Cris Gera

All photos by Kaja Crompton Design by Laverne Wyatt

All songs composed and arranged by Cris Gera.

Recorded at BlueBlack Productions, Kempton Park, South Africa


For information about the release, press package and more, contact